My First SCROG - Jack Herer from Sannie's Shop

in Grow Journals Sat Mar 08, 2014 7:18 pm
by JackRyan420 | 288 Posts | 1272 Points

OK, I'm doing a Jack Herer SCROG grow from feminized seeds. I've been growing for 5 years, with mostly good results. But I've never done a SCROG grow, and I've never grown Jack Herer.

My wife and I love the Jack Herer strain because (we're all adults here) it takes sex for us to a higher level that can't be explained in words. It's quite amazing.

I know SCROG grows work best when starting from clones instead of seeds, but I don't have a mother plant. At least not yet.

Seeds: Jack Herer feminized seeds from Sannie's Shop.

Grow Medium: ProMix HP. I added 2 tablespoons of dolomite lime per gallon of ProMix.

Grow containers: 5-gallon Smart Pots.

Nutrients: Dyna-Gro 3-part (Grow, Bloom, Pro-Tect) mixed exactly as the bottles say. I use only tap water, and I don't ever balance PH. All my grows turn out fine this way. But I draw the tap water into 5-gallon buckets 24 hours before use, so as to allow the chlorine to evaporate.

Grow room:

A 3.5 x 3.5 x 8 closet under a California Lightworks 200-watt VegMaster LED. When it's time to flower, I'll use a 600-watt Hortilux HPS bulb in a Luxor vertical-bulb fixture with 8" flanges. I use a Lumatek digital ballast. And a 636 CFM Elicent inline fan to both cool the light and vent the room.

My SCROG screen is 3 x 3, and is 14 inches above the tops of the Smart Pots. I emailed Sannie directly and asked him how high I should place the screen above the tops of the Smart Pots. He said he has SCROG'ed Jack Herer many times, and he suggested a screen height of 12-18" above the tops of the smart pots, since she's a tall-growing sativa. I chose 14".

All 5 of my seeds germinated just fine using the "soaking in water" and then "paper towel" method. I raised them in 18-ounce Dixie cups, and transplanted them into 5-gallon Smart Pots.

Here are pics taken today: