Topping in flower??

in Advanced Growing Techniques Wed Feb 12, 2014 2:40 pm
by ross | 51 Posts | 190 Points

I'm growing plants from seed right now and one clone I am starting flower tomorrow and haven't trained them at all I was wondering if I could top like the first week of flower? They haven't bushed the way I was hoping. Whenever I train it's always LST and only top when it's accidental from supercropping. But when I grow from seed it's hard to supercrop because the stalks are so thick. I usually don't grow from seed and the clones are easier to train so I've never topped in flower.

Herb is the healing of a nation, alcohol is the destruction.” - Robert Nesta Marley
Scroll up

RE: Topping in flower??

in Advanced Growing Techniques Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:39 pm
by Vegs | 17 Posts | 92 Points

That may be a little tricky unless the strain is known to stretch a bit when in flower. Again, that still may not be a good idea. Not that I am an expert, but I stop topping before switching into flowering because I want nice solid kolas when possible.

I always grow from seed and try to prune each cycle at least once as well as try to do some form of LST before going into flower to increase yields and maximize on vertical space. Currently, my grow is vertically challenged. =)

Last edited Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:41 pm | Scroll up

in Advanced Growing Techniques Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:01 pm
by Rosebud | 499 Posts | 2113 Points

Can you top it and veg for longer? It would be a lot of stress on the plant to top it and put in flower at the same time. I wouldn't do it. Other's will chime in .... Green mojo to you!

Scroll up

in Advanced Growing Techniques Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:07 pm
by ozzydiodude • The Weird One | 2.474 Posts | 11542 Points

I like to give the plants at least 7 days to recover before flipping after topping .

Let's help each other, by spreading our knowledge of the plants we love

Cannabis grown with care grows into medicine somewhere!
Scroll up