Aerate the medium... regardless of the medium.

in Advanced Growing Techniques Sun Jan 19, 2014 2:49 pm
by Dr Green Fang | 142 Posts | 864 Points

Current experiment being done...

I'm growing two plants in one 4x4 tent right now, and put them each into a 10 gal tote. In the bottom of the totes are two 4 inch cylindrical air stones, spaced evenly apart and mostly in the middle(ish) part of the tote. I then just about covered those (and the bottom) with about 2 inches of Hydroton in the bottom. After this, I mixed up 1/3 Sunshine Advanced Mix #4 (Peat Moss, Coco, Perlite) with 2/3 Coco+additional Perlite.

This is something HushPuppy and I have been talking about for a couple months, and seems like it should be a HIT with anything, not just Hydro.

:)

Scroll up

RE: Aerate the medium... regardless of the medium.

in Advanced Growing Techniques Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:01 pm
by Justa420Friend | 633 Posts | 2284 Points

are you going to run the air pump 24/7?

only thought that comes to (my) mind is that air flow might dry out your "soil" faster than normal

good luck

Your Experience is like Water
I am like Rockwool
Scroll up

in Advanced Growing Techniques Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:05 pm

Yea, I'm going to run it 24/7. I also am going to water everyday I'm guessing. I watered my 3gal coco pots everyday my other runs, so I expect that with this one. I may even make up a large tote and use drip lines into the totes with a timer. Not 100% sure about that yet.

Scroll up

in Advanced Growing Techniques Sun Jan 19, 2014 3:10 pm
by Justa420Friend | 633 Posts | 2284 Points

right on.

I just started growing 5 weeks ago so I don't know JACK, just throwing out thoughts.

can't wait to get past the learning stage, I'm always trying to think outside the norm but @ this point I still need to learn what the "norm" IS . LOL

Your Experience is like Water
I am like Rockwool
Scroll up

in Advanced Growing Techniques Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:00 pm
by shortbus | 253 Posts | 1304 Points