T5 ballast repair

in DIY Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:56 am
by MR1 | 703 Posts | 2417 Points
Wenn Sie hier auf Links zu eBay klicken und einen Kauf tätigen, kann dies dazu führen, dass diese Website eine Provision erhält.

This is a simple how to on replacing the capacitors on your ballast if they are similar to the ballast in my fixture. I am no expert, just a diy guy that likes to same some money if I can. I fixed my PC power supply this way so I figured I would try it here. Remember, safety first, make sure you disconnect everything you are working on. New parts cost with shipping, $45. Cost of parts to repair myself, $1 ( I bought 5 caps for $5 and used one ). I still have to buy an external fuse holder which might be a couple more bucks but I might make my own?

This is the fixture, 6 bulb, 3 ballasts.
Ballast removed, don't forget to mark where you connectors go.
The two black things, bottom left are the capacitors.
You can see the cap on the right is deformed, so that is the one I changed. You may not see any deformation, there was none on mine either untill I did a sumwhat controlled test which resulted in what you see here. If you cannot see damage just replace both. The little fuse just underneath the cap is also blown ( look for a fuse somewhere, your board may be arranged differently ). I will either solder a new fuse of the same value or I will use an external fuse you can twist apart if you need to replace the fuse.
Safety step: Use something with insulated handles and short out the capacitors which will release any charge left in them. Capacitors store energy so you always want to be carefull when working around them.
Bag of capacitors. I bought mine on ebay. Make sure you get the same ones that are in your ballast. I just typed in capacitor then the values marked on it. You should get some choices. You can choose to use high quality or cheap but since I was not sure if this would work so I bought cheap ones. I may replace with better.